First time VW buggy owner. Lots of questions.

Here's the place to start. Introduce yourself and your ride.
Noiro A. Buggyman

First time VW buggy owner. Lots of questions.

Post by Noiro A. Buggyman »

Hi.

I have a VW buggy that was home made in 2010.

I just got it today.

Runs and drives, brakes work, etc.

I plan to drive it in ORV parks, and maybe the dunes some times.

It was stamped with a VIN a few months ago, 3 year title.

Whats it take to make it street legal?

I am a long time mechanic, but I have never worked on a VW that was older than about 1995.

Where do I start?

Only rear brakes? Thats odd. Can I add front brakes? Why are the rear brake lines made of plastic?

What do those sensors do on the transmission?

Why is there some sort of oil leaking out of that hole in the front of the transmission?

Whats with the "pre-heater" pipes near the exhaust? Should I remove them?

The heater ducts are plugged, is that good or bad?

When checks should I do to keep from frying something? What fluids and where?

What octane fuel? 87?

Its a dual port I believe. What size motor?

No muffler? Its loud! Should I add one? Will a muffler reduce power?

Too big of rear tires? (33x12.50xR15LT)

No skid plated? Where do I get them, and do I need a roll cage for the engine?

The seats suck, what should I replace them with?

Shifter is too tall, I need it shorter.

Steering shaft is too long, how do people shorten them?

I plan to put foam padding on the bars, good plan?

It has a toggle switches to turn on the lights, ignition, starter, and alternator. What would be better?

I know that there is a lot of literature on the topic, but i would appreciate any input from you guys that have hands on experience with this stuff.

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Noiro A. Buggyman on Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ol'fogasaurus

Re: First time VW buggy owner. Lots of questions.