Using Iphone forAutotune

Post Reply
STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:20 pm

I have dabbled this question out there somewhere before, but didn't really get an answer I don't think- I have an Iphone 10R and a MS2. Driving around in the desert with a laptop doesn't seem like an idea that is going to last too long, I have heard that you can make the phone work with Autotune somehow. I have downloaded the app- Can anybody save me some research time with what hardware it takes to get the two to talk? - OR- I am also looking in to using an Ipad as a GPS- If I can make that do both jobs, I'd be elated!
Thanks for the help

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by Chip Birks » Sat Jan 18, 2020 1:46 pm

I don't think you'll have any luck auto tuning with apple products. MS droid actually allows you to tune, but manually, no auto feature. If you want to autotune, you will need tunerstudio. A windows tablet and a bluetooth setup is probably your best bet.

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Wed Sep 30, 2020 5:42 pm

So checking back for updates on this one... Still wanting for autotune using a tablet that I can mount on the dash- Any Android tablet that allows Autotune yet? I now see there is Shadow dash, etc- do these allow auto tune to function? I have found conflicting info on the net- thanks for the help

User avatar
Schweg
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by Schweg » Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:08 pm

You could also look into a Raspberry PI dash. Self made or bought. I have about $80 into one that I’m working on slowly.

It would give you all the things it sounds like your looking for including gps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:33 pm

Schweg wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:08 pm
You could also look into a Raspberry PI dash. Self made or bought. I have about $80 into one that I’m working on slowly.

It would give you all the things it sounds like your looking for including gps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's an attention getter!... hadn't heard of this one- I'm seeing $350.00 - How does one come upon such a thing for $80?
- actually what I found has TS and other goodies pre-installed. Hadn't heard of Raspberry before

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:39 pm

STOICH wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:33 pm
Schweg wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:08 pm
You could also look into a Raspberry PI dash. Self made or bought. I have about $80 into one that I’m working on slowly.

It would give you all the things it sounds like your looking for including gps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's an attention getter!... hadn't heard of this one- I'm seeing $350.00 - How does one come upon such a thing for $80?
- actually what I found has TS and other goodies pre-installed. Hadn't heard of Raspberry before
So that looks to be more than I am after- Can anybody confirm that the Surf 7 or Nexus 7 will or will not run Autotune?

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:11 pm

I revisted this PI idea... way more info out about it now. Totally regretting I didn't see all that earlier :? Just ordered it up, thanks for the lead!

User avatar
panel
Posts: 4107
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 2:01 am

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by panel » Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:37 pm

Got a link to the product you're buying ?
'65 Bus with a JDM Subaru EJ20 Turbo
Built by Germans powered by Japanese and brought together by Canadians

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:05 pm

You can get it pre-built from here, $400.00 - https://pidashs.com/collections/pidash/products/pidash

I'm building it myself out of a few different ordered pieces, There are few different setups available depending on what Squirt you have, I opted for the PI 3 B as I use the older MS2 and I like that it has a dedicated HDMI port. There are a number of videos with some pretty good how-to stuff, such as this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWxHiaaI35s
The above link has a lot of setup info,

The setup I am building is more like in the following link so I can flush mount the monitor on the dash and have the PI located remote, under the seat next to the MS2.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F52okrQbZoY

The parts list I opted for is below, I have been borrowing a Wide-band from a friend now for years, time to pony up I suppose... Yeah, I feel bad for going with Amazon.... got suckered in by convenience again rather than ordering from 5 different places






STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Sun Oct 10, 2021 11:43 am

Schweg wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:08 pm
You could also look into a Raspberry PI dash. Self made or bought. I have about $80 into one that I’m working on slowly.

It would give you all the things it sounds like your looking for including gps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You happen to have a copy of the original NOOBS install? It appears to have been discontinued, I can't seem to find it

User avatar
Schweg
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by Schweg » Sun Oct 10, 2021 12:53 pm

I do but on my computer I’ll be back to it Tuesday. PM Your email.

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Tue Oct 12, 2021 11:09 am

I downloaded the newest version of Raspberry, which is more like windows than DOS... I know nothing of Linux so the fault is mine. The Raspberry is working but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to install Tunerstudio. I have downloaded and extracted both Windows version and Linux versions but I'm PI stupid at this point :?

User avatar
Schweg
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by Schweg » Tue Oct 12, 2021 12:08 pm

You need Linux version.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=jIrbKfECU2M&t=490s

The video will explain it easier then I can.

Though I will warn you get another card set up so you can hot swap made things way easier, honestly a desktop PI would make things more efficient.

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Tue Oct 12, 2021 10:26 pm

This thing is driving me nuts! I can download the windows version of Pi and it works great, but won't run TunerStudio. I can't seem to get any other OS to work on the thing

STOICH
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Using Iphone forAutotune

Post by STOICH » Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:30 pm

Given that there are only about 900 options for operating systems for the PI, and they all work a bit differently, I have just about worn out YouTube but the thing now works and autostarts :) This thing is pretty cool. Thanks again for the tip

Post Reply