Shift Light

Moderator: Tom Notch

Post Reply
clintonddk
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:24 pm

Shift Light

Post by clintonddk » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:19 pm

Is it possible for a shift light that is built into a tac to cause a loss in sync?

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: Shift Light

Post by ps2375 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:02 pm

How is MS triggered, what controls shift light?

clintonddk
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:24 pm

Re: Shift Light

Post by clintonddk » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:30 pm

36-1 and a hall sensor. I can't remember at this time what output I used for my tax but the light is built in to the tac.

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: Shift Light

Post by ps2375 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:43 pm

So, tach is MS driven or driven by coil?

User avatar
kangaboy
Posts: 746
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 3:01 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Shift Light

Post by kangaboy » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:56 am

clintonddk wrote:Is it possible for a shift light that is built into a tach to cause a loss in sync?
Just curious how that would happen. The "Tach Output" is an output from the MS unit...how would an output cause the MS to lose sync? My shift light is built into my tach, and is just triggered when the gauge gets to a certain defined rpm. I may just not be privy on this, but I'll wait for someone to come by with a definite answer.

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: Shift Light

Post by ps2375 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 8:48 am

Is this thread created because this is actually happening or just a question? If the tach is driven by an MS output, I wouldn't expect a shift light inside the tach to cause a reset, but you never know how someone might wire a system and possibly interlink grounds, power leads and such.

clintonddk
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:24 pm

Re: Shift Light

Post by clintonddk » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:03 pm

Tac is MS2 driven and I am not sure if the light is the problem or not. I am having a loss of sync issue and noticed that it just so happens to happen when the light flashes. I was told to try and turn off the noise filter in Tunerstudio and see if that helps.

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: Shift Light

Post by ps2375 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:50 pm

Disable the light, see what that does.

Are you sure it's a loss of sync, do you have any rev limiter set to operate?

Clonebug
Posts: 2990
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: Shift Light

Post by Clonebug » Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:32 pm

clintonddk wrote:Tac is MS2 driven and I am not sure if the light is the problem or not. I am having a loss of sync issue and noticed that it just so happens to happen when the light flashes. I was told to try and turn off the noise filter in Tunerstudio and see if that helps.
Disconnect the tach and try it. Next set the light to a really high rpm so you don't activate it and see if you get resets again.
You could increase the noise filter a little to see if that helps too.
Check your sensor gap also.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

Post Reply