to rich from autoune

Moderator: Tom Notch

Post Reply
damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 7:17 am

i have been running the autotune on my 2270cc type 4 .
but it has been tuning under acceleration super rich .
is there any way to adjust the autotune (veal)

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by ps2375 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 5:43 pm

Are you using TunerStudio or MegaTune? And is your AFR Target Table setup correctly? And I found that TS works works much better than MT.

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:21 pm

i am using tunerstudio
i am not real sure what settings i should be running
i have a 2270 type 4
mild cam ,44x38mm 914 heads ,40mm throttle bodies .
what would be a good target range for afr
thanks

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by ps2375 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:37 pm

Start with 14.7 and adjust table from there. Do you have the TS configured correctly for the WB you are using? Do you get a reasonable reading in TS on the dashboard compared to the WB display(if it has one)? There are some articles of how to eliminate voltage offset and make the WB output match the input to MS.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21716
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by Piledriver » Wed Aug 31, 2016 7:41 pm

Getting the voltage offset right and getting the Lambda delay right are critical if you want Tunder Studios VEAL to work efficiently.

As noted, "rich everywhere" indicates a voltage offset or wrong controller selected.

You can teach the entire VE table at whatever target AFR you like, 12.5 at WOT and 15+:1 at lower loads is typical.
You set the target AFR in the AFR target table, make sure "include AFR" is on (default)

Once the VE table is solid you can change the AFR target at will and it (for me) to be dead nuts on.
Note you cannot target an AFR higher than your selected sensor can read. (or higher than 25.4:1 in any case)
Some WBO2s can read accurately ~out to free air. The MS ignores anything over 25.4:1. (software design thing)
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:00 pm

i have noticed the battery voltage on tunerstudio is way off
when it's 13volts on my gauge but on tunerstudio it reads 16 volts .
i also had a look at the afr chart on tunerstudio my van is nothing like what it says on tunerstudio.
would the voltage being wrong cause the diffrence

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:22 pm

i forgot to mention i have a LC1 wideband and between the gauge and
tunerstudio it's pretty right on (about .2 of a diffrence between the two)

User avatar
ps2375
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Meridian,ID

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by ps2375 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:15 pm

Have you compared TS voltage and the gauge voltage with motor off, and checked both against a DVM? Is your MS unit grounded well? The MS and LC1 should both be grounded together and away from the O2 sensor heater ground, they tend to generate lots of noise. Does the LC1 have two grounds, I don't know as I don't use that controller.

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 2:27 am

MS and LC1 are grounded together and the ms is grounded straight to neg battery .
i went on to tunerstudio and had a look at the battery calibration .
it was on 4.0 to 38,9 (i don't know how it got like that)..
it says on tunerstudio ,typical values are 0.0 to 29.7,so i have set it to that .
i will try that later

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21716
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by Piledriver » Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:44 am

damo99 wrote:i have noticed the battery voltage on tunerstudio is way off
when it's 13volts on my gauge but on tunerstudio it reads 16 volts .
i also had a look at the afr chart on tunerstudio my van is nothing like what it says on tunerstudio.
would the voltage being wrong cause the diffrence
The bat voltage offset changes injector on time, dwell, and probably a herd of other calculated things that may not be obvious.

Needs fixed, immediately if not sooner. :shock:
Its possible your 5vref is being pulled down which can screw ~everything sensor related.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by damo99 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:45 am

just went for a drive and also checked battery voltage with engine off and on .
its alot better now i have changed the calibration .
battery voltage is now only .1or 2 out from my digital dakota voltage gauge .
also did a quick tune and it seems to be alot better .
not as rich as before but not to lean either .
i will have a good look in the morning

luftvagon
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:27 am
Location: Little Rock, AR

Re: to rich from autoune

Post by luftvagon » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:33 am

Hey, make sure you check your voltage at the ECU/injectors, and not at the battery.. It's not the same voltage, btw.
You need to be calibrating the voltage at ECU/injectors, because that's where adjustments need to take place.
1981 Volkswagen Vanagon Westfalia - air-cooled Type4 1970cc CV (hydraulic lifters, 42x36 valves, stock cam, microSquirt FI)
1993 Ford F-250 XL LWB Extended Cab 7.3L IDI

Post Reply