MS3 variable boost control

Moderator: Tom Notch

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

MS3 variable boost control

Post by MarioVelotta » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:23 pm

I've know about this feature for a little while but haven't had chance to set it up until today. It has so many possibilities and it's a must for my next install.

The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
Vee Dub Nut
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 3:01 am
Location: San Antonio TX

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by Vee Dub Nut » Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:11 am

Ok, let me see if I understood this correctly. If Table 1 is 0% duty cycle for your control solenoid and Table 2 is 50% duty cycle, and then you dial the rotary switch to get your blend gauge to 50% (i.e. 50% blend of the table), you end up with an effective 25% duty cycle? I'm I tracking this right, or way off?

I'm REALLY looking forward to getting my MS3 upgrade put into the ECU so I can start playing with all of these features.
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2006

67 Beetle

User avatar
Zander
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:48 am
Location: Austin

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by Zander » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:54 am

I understood it as if table 1 is 0 and table 2 is 50 then the knob will give you a range of 0-50. I could be wrong. Enlighten us Mario 8)

User avatar
Vee Dub Nut
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 3:01 am
Location: San Antonio TX

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by Vee Dub Nut » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:41 pm

^ Yes, that is what I was saying (or at least trying to)

If table 1 is 0, and table 2 is 50... than 50% blend is 25.. sort of like an average. But like you said, 0% to 100% blend is still going to span 0 to 50.
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2006

67 Beetle

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by MarioVelotta » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:21 pm

If table 1 is "0" and table 2 is "100", max will be "100" as long as the blend table is set to full scale. If table 2 changed to 50% then max is now 50 and the positions are divided equally.

The blend table is the key here and you can setup your steps however you want to use them. Make the first 3 steep and the last couple a real jump to make sure you win ;)
Blend Curve (6) 172013 104457 AM.jpg
These blend tables don't stop at boost though. You can do the same thing with the VE tables, Spark tables, and AFR tables. You must note that this would take 4 analog inputs to accomplish.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
fastback
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by fastback » Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:24 pm

cool
any info on the switch/wiring?

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by MarioVelotta » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:30 pm

Real basic
EveryCircuit.jpeg
My switch had 6 positions and one pole. So Each voltage break out went to one position on the switch and the pole output goes to the ecu. I use the 5 volt buss from the ecu as well.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
maxyray
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:36 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by maxyray » Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:46 am

Wow, I gotta get me one of these. Mario will I be able to run this on my set up as its not ms3??

Will it be a dash mounted? And is it live or do you need your cpu plugged in?
Thanks
Max

User avatar
fastback
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by fastback » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:25 am

i asume i need the newest firmware then for the MS3X as i do not have these options on my current,and with that it gives me option on which 0-5V input to use then?

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by MarioVelotta » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:31 pm

maxyray wrote:Wow, I gotta get me one of these. Mario will I be able to run this on my set up as its not ms3??

Will it be a dash mounted? And is it live or do you need your cpu plugged in?
Sorry Max, this is MS3 only right now. I'm not sure MS2 will get back ported with it. You don't need your computer in the car either. The switch acts like a sensor to the ecu and once you set your tables, all you have to do is turn the knob when you want more or less boost.
fastback wrote:i asume i need the newest firmware then for the MS3X as i do not have these options on my current,and with that it gives me option on which 0-5V input to use then?
Yup it is in the newest release firmware along with a check engine light that's fully definable and a couple other cool things.
Last edited by MarioVelotta on Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
fastback
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by fastback » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:53 pm

thx .proper time for an upgrade then :)

User avatar
Humble
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 3:01 am

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by Humble » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:11 pm

do you have a part # for the switch and knob you are using? It's looks small enough to easily fit into any dash, and the detents sound fairly firm. I'd like to use this switch for boost control as well as traction control on my new subaru swap :)

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by MarioVelotta » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:51 pm

This is the switch I used but found it at a local electronics store.

http://www.amazon.com/Miniatronics-Corp ... ary+switch
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
andy198712
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by andy198712 » Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:18 am

so i'm a bit neeb on turbos

do that adjust an electronic boost controller then? and adjust boost that way?

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2436
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: MS3 variable boost control

Post by Chip Birks » Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:24 am

Correct, That is the idea.

Post Reply