Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Moderator: Tom Notch

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:39 pm

Just read through your build thread on the Samba Willo. Interesting stuff to say the least. Time to start saving for an ECU... :)

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:00 am

Ok, so I had a brief dalliance with the idea of a Delco ECU, but I've repented and I'm def going megasquirt now...

My next question is;
To build or to buy?

Buying costs me about $200 more but saves time. Building will make it all take longer, but I save $100.

I'm not a total electronics novice, but I'm not much beyond that. I've built a few preamps for guitars and wired a few guitars and I think I can read circuit diagrams. I've also wired up numerous driving lights, speakers and the like and messed around with a stock subaru ECU, but I'm no expert. I mean I understand what electronic components do in theory (except for diodes, don't get them beyond LEDs), but I'm not ofay with complicated stuff. Could I build the ECU without stuffing it up?

User avatar
Jadewombat
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by Jadewombat » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:34 am

You probably won't save a $100 though. You'll get it all together and then have to buy a separate STIM module just to be able to test it which is $50 or $60 I think. The STIM takes the place of all of the sensors and actuates the ECU as if it were in the car for troubleshooting. The ECUs that are already assembled have been tested.

User avatar
supaninja
Posts: 1658
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:48 pm
Location: Houston/Corpus Christi

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by supaninja » Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:10 am

Diodes are simple, think of them as a check valve, they only allow current to flow in one direction ;)
Image
'65 notch w/ a squirted type 4
http://supaninjanick.wordpress.com/
'68 "Zombie Response Vehicle" Westy
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=140387

User avatar
trbugman
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2002 3:01 am
Location: SoCal

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by trbugman » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:21 pm

Jadewombat wrote:You probably won't save a $100 though. You'll get it all together and then have to buy a separate STIM module just to be able to test it which is $50 or $60 I think. The STIM takes the place of all of the sensors and actuates the ECU as if it were in the car for troubleshooting. The ECUs that are already assembled have been tested.
Even if you buy an already built unit you want to get the stim for trouble shooting.
That way if you screw up your harness your not blaming the the ecu for the problems.

Clonebug
Posts: 2900
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by Clonebug » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:49 pm

I don't have a stim and have been running Edis for two years without problems and now installing FI..

I bought my MS-1 used form Mario and had him build my Relay board and wiring harness. I thought the prices were quite reasonable...

If you spend enough time wiring the engine you should become quite intimate with the wiring diagram and related parts.

I have 21 wires in my setup and I know where each one is going by now.

I recommend getting the relay board. It takes a lot of the hassles out of the wiring. It makes it pretty well plug and play
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:37 am

Yeah, I reckon I'm gonna be buying a built one. Time is not something that is overflowing round here.

In a new development, I picked up 3/4 of a twinport 1600 off the side of the road today. Quite literally. I think it had been put out to be collected by metal merchants but I scored it. It's missing the barrels, gennie/fan, flywheel, barrels and one head, but the block, crank and the rest are there. I even got 99%of the tinware so that's awesome. I think this might be the basis for a blown EFI 1600. :D

damo99
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:31 am
Location: melbourne australia

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by damo99 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:14 am

petew wrote:Hi all,
Considering converting my judson powered 40hp engine (in a 56 beetle) over to MSII with wasted spark setup. Love to hear your thoughts.

I live in Sydney, Australia. So some of the parts you guys use are not available to me, but a breakdown of what I might need would be excellent. Alternatively, if someone has already done something similar, a link would be good.

The idea is that down the track, I'd build a more serious twin port 1300 with an SC12 or SC14 supercharger off a toyota. Also consider the idea of twin plug heads. So I'd want to build those capabilitites into the ECU and software choice now.
don,t use the sc12 or the sc14 as there all to old and the coating on the vanes isn,t reapairable .
i was looking for one a few years ago everyone i looked at was stuffed (coatings scratched off).
they are also big and bulky.
for a 1300 the amr 500 works fine (up to 1500),is half the weight and fits easilly in a beetle engine bay..
there are people that say they are to small but i know of 2 that have been running for years(under 10lb bost) and every supercharger speacialist
said they will work that i spoke to . the amr 300 is to small for a 1300 and above but work well on 1100 or 1200,s
the amr,s are popular in germany ,there is a guy on this forum that has one(amr supercharger)

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:59 pm

Bringing a thread back from the dead...

With my 1600 taking ages, I'm tempted to get an old 1300 running with the microsquirt. I'm still considering where to put injectors. I'm thinking pointing into the ports on the ends of the manifold. I also have a pair of type 3 carbs and SP manifolds, but not sure if that's too complex. Thoughts?

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:59 am

So I just ordered some injector bosses and an 02 sensor bung. Let the games begin!

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:07 pm

In between doing 15 other stupid things in the shed, I had a chance to measure things up. Here are the type 3 dual carb manifolds that come from the factory.

Image

My Chinese injector bosses almost press straight into the balancing tube brazed in the side. The only issue being the tubes don't point in exactly the same angle.

Image

It would then be a matter of building some sort of clamp to keep the fuel rail on. I could use the throttle plate on the stock carbs, but I need to come up with a throttle position sensor and a linkage setup.

My other alternative is to drill (16mm) holes in the single carb manifold on the corners and weld them in. That way they'd be pointing into the ports.

Thoughts?

User avatar
Jadewombat
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by Jadewombat » Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:39 pm

The angle doesn't look quite steep enough to have an injector squirting there at the opposite wall. Probably need to cut that boss off and increase the angle a little higher to make sure the air flow carries it sufficiently. The stock injectors on a later manifold for reference.

Image

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by petew » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:44 pm

I suspected something like that might be the case. To be honest, drilling the single carb manifold and adapting it for a single throttle body is probably easier.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21719
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by Piledriver » Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:48 am

You will need it to be built suporting fully sequential and use the siamese config/inj. timing options for that to maybe work right. Requires relatively huge injectors and spraying only when the valve is open.(low max duty cycle)

Stick with a TBi. One anything else its ~a loss, but a singleport is an outlier.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
Jadewombat
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Converting to MS on a 40hp/1300?

Post by Jadewombat » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:55 pm

Depending upon the path of least resistance, you can probably use the duals (those bosses do fit nicely it looks like) you just need to cut and reweld them at the correct angle. You were planning on wiring up 2 TPS sensors with duals, correct?

OR, like you alluded to, cut the steel bosses off those dual manifolds and weld them up near the top of the curve of a single (one-piece) manifold.

Post Reply