New set up

Moderator: Tom Notch

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:31 pm

Going megasquirt.
43mm motorcycle throttle bodies on homemade intakes.
320 cc injectors.
2387cc
42 and 37.5 heads
Fk10 cam
Edis ignition.
I have and old unassembled ms1.
Plan on running Xtra and the edis module.
Two o2 inputs and dual tables.

Hopefully I can make it run.
Anyone have a simular. msq I can look at?

Image

jhoefer
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: New set up

Post by jhoefer » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:22 pm

Looks good. What's it going in? I would think the width would be a problem in a Beetle.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:06 pm

Upgrading my old 2110 in my trike.

Image

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: New set up

Post by Piledriver » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:12 pm

Note that it's actually at least as easy to do direct COP or waste spark coil control, even on MS1-extra.
Much easier to troubleshoot vs. EDIS as well.

EDIS was "the way"when it was the only way to go crank fire on MS.
It hasn't been the preferred method in ages.

If you have your heart set on it, and/or already have all the parts, EDIS does work OK.
You lose the ability to do spark cut rev limiting, traction control etc.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:32 pm

I may have missed it. But i have not seen anywhere that you can direct control with ms1 running the old Motorola chip. IF using the chip and pcb upgrade yes.
I have an old ms1 pcb2.2 unit and all the edis stuff just laying around and planed on using it.
If I was to actually buy something it would be a microsquirt.
I did search for some cops I would like and never did find them.
I am not against LS coils or even driving the ford coil directly.
As far as extra features. ... i have no need.
It is stripped down chopper style. No instrumentation not even a speedo.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: New set up

Post by Piledriver » Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:28 pm

http://www.msextra.com/doc/ms1extra/MS_ ... htm#2coils

Also supports sequential COP on up to a /6 with a second cam trigger.

If you already have all the edis bits and a 36-1 wheel for your crank pulley, it does work ok.
if you need a pulley/wheel setup, thedubshop.net (mario) sells a nice EDIS compatible pulley/sensor/bracket setup

Saw a sale going on at fcpeuro for the latest rev "redtop" vw cops, ~$14/ea, but they MAY require an active high driver circuit, to run them waste spark you would need two. (not sure what they need, only that they can be used)

Not hard to build, and the price is right, work vs. wallet.

If you can swing it MS2E is a lot more capable and easier to set up.
(Try to find a used MS2 daughterboard from someone upgrading to MS3, new they are silly priced)
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:11 pm

I had read that page before. For some reason I remembered it as for the newer cpu.
But anyway.
Yeas I have all the stuff. I have not made the pulley adapter for the missing tooth wheel.
Yeah if I come across a daughter board 2 upgrade I might get it. But as it stands....if I spend money it will be for the micro unit.

I know there are lots of coils the ms is capable of driving.
My issue is length and clearing my homemade intakes and not sticking put so wide that they hit oncoming traffic. ..lol.
At one time I wanted some super short (no neck) coils to fit between intake and plug. I have no tins and don't need any reach. I actually run 90* plug boots so they don't stick out all goofy.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: New set up

Post by Piledriver » Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:34 am

I wonder if you could just use LS2 coils as COPS.
Might need a rubber boot but they are pretty short compared to pencil COPS.

They would have to be run sequential though due to their long dwell time, over ~7K you would run out of dwell or hit a duty cycle limit running waste spark.
Doable, but there may be better choices (I just don't know what they are).
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:46 am

Probably just gonna stay with the edis I already have.
Maybe one day I will get a microsquirt and change things around.

Coil mount is made.
Image

Might possibly get some drivers and direct control the ford coil pack.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:47 am

Still working on it.
Not much time or money to put in it.
I have made quite a few parts and things are starting to come together.

Image

Image

Image

Image

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:48 am

Ceramic coated.

Image

Image

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:53 am

A mock up just to see what it is gonna be.
The heads are not finished/built. Port work is done. Now for guides, valves, assembly...

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: New set up

Post by Piledriver » Sat Nov 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Looks great!
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
panel
Posts: 3623
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada
Contact:

Re: New set up

Post by panel » Wed Nov 30, 2016 11:01 pm

Is that some sort of IAC valve on one of the heads?

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: New set up

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:27 pm

Yes.
Idle air on one intake and pressure reg on the other.
Not many places to put all this stuff on a bike.
Idle air is on a manifold block and is hooked to each barrel with flex poly tubing.

Post Reply