Logic level COP

Moderator: Tom Notch

Michael
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:01 am

Logic level COP

Post by Michael » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:29 am

Hey Guys,

Looking for some logic level COPs but can't seem to find any. I know the LS1/LS2 are logic level, but they are CNP.

Any out there that would fit a VW?

Thanks,
Michael

Michael
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:01 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Michael » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:39 pm

So the only option of running COP with a MS3x is with the quad spark driver?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:46 pm

LS2 coils fit a VW just fine, and walk all over the (very troublesome) VAG COPS, and most others.

Not the end alls, but if you like reasonably priced, headache-free setups, and like the idea of self protecting coils, they are a great choice.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Michael
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:01 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Michael » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:05 pm

I wanted logic COP for simplicity, both in electrically and appearance. I don't like the idea of having to install another piece of hardware to support it.

Yeah, LS2 that was going to be my next option, or the race coils from DIYautotune to have a CNP setup. All it needs is a few more wires.

Looks like the race coil @ DIY is a copy of the AEM IGBT Inductive "Smart" Coil. Or just rebranded...

I think this would look awesome in the engine bay;

Image

Thanks Pile!

Steve Arndt
Posts: 7186
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Go Boise State, ID
Contact:

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Steve Arndt » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:59 am

Those are IGN1A coils that Lance (Redline on here) sells to DIY and the rest of the retailers.

I use four IGN1 coils on my bug.

Image

Image

Steve

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:42 am

They make similar $$$ brackets for LS2 coils, but you an probably make your own for <$5.

I brazenly copied RonWs setup, cost me 4 6mm bolts, 4 nuts and some standoffs.
(We had room to hang off the injector mounts on the intakes, but the same setup could go almost anywhere)
LS2-coils-2L-manifold.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
volksbugly
Posts: 613
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:09 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by volksbugly » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:16 pm

LS2 Yukon / truck coil is what you want...
its heavy duty and has its own heat sink.
http://www.rrrdynotuning.com/store/#ecw ... uct=548968
are the exact ones I bought.

This is why I bought the above mentioned coil.
http://youtube/C1WH0OExQyA
Last edited by volksbugly on Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:36 pm

I have a set of those too, different mounting setup.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Michael
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:01 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Michael » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:13 am

Thanks for all the replies guys!

Looks like look into the CNP setup. Still looking at the race coils, but I'll check out the some local prices on the LS2 coils and make a decision based on that.

What's the best way of wiring these up? 4 separate 12 volt lines from a relay? or splice it out near the coil?

Thanks,

Michael

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:26 am

I ran 2 12 ga wires off 2 15A fuses, split L/R.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
volksbugly
Posts: 613
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:09 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by volksbugly » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:47 am

Piledriver wrote:I ran 2 12 ga wires off 2 15A fuses, split L/R.
I wired mine very similar.
I ran source power to 15 amp fuse, then from fuse to a 30A relay, then to two coils. Did this twice. Relays power on with ignition.
12 ga wire also

Race coils aren't going to net you any better. :)

Heres a quick look at mine.

Image

Image

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:09 am

I fused post relay.

I have 12ga off the battery to coil (only) relay, split to the 2 fuses.
Everything under the back seat, so the power and ground lines are nice and short.

Main relay supplies MS and WBO2 via a 5A fuse, and powers the FP relay, enables coil and ign relays.
(inj are on 5A circuits, IIRC I split that too for some reason)

The FP relay only provides a signal to the OG relay up front that runs the pumps.
(carter clacker feeder and 044, VW Fox sump etc behind the beam up front)

In the engine compartment, (near the coils) the 12v coil feeds have as many wraps as I could manage around pairs of snap-together ferrite cores from Radio Shack in an effort to reduce any chance of HF junk from the coils making it back to everything else, particularly as I am running a single sided harness.

On my OLD setup (ms2) the coil/injector lines and power etc all ran on the other side of the car in their own cable, as physically separate as possible from the "signal" harness. (had an external box w/all ign/inj drivers, it was easy to do this way)

My WB cable still runs in the other conduit.

The only thing grounded to the engine on my setup is the driver power grounds of the coils.
(the signal grounds goes back to the ECU)

Paranoid?
Well, have yet to have any noise issues.
(although the GM CS130 alternator helps)
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Redline Weber

Logic level COP Ford Coyote

Post by Redline Weber » Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:46 am

The New Ford Coyote engine uses our "logic level" coil with ion sensing.

This COP coil can be purchased at a Ford dealer ONLY.

The 2011 year trucks (ECHO Boost), Mustang cars, also use this COP coil.

Lance

Michael
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:01 am

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Michael » Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:11 pm

Any chance you have a part number or a datasheet on these coils?

Maybe a better path to go instead of going with a knock sensor. :)

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21786
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Logic level COP

Post by Piledriver » Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:27 pm

Hmmm. my son has a new F150 EcoBoost...
I'll call him and see if he can pull a part#.

He says they are buried good, but the connector has the following #s:
33471-0340 then 10314. (33471-0340 is a valid Molex #)
(I need to verify the above as I'm not sure of his ID)

I'll google a bit.
... defective coils seem very common, so beware.
Granatelli and Accel make "upgrade" coils for the `11/`12 Ford Coyote.
No idea if they still have the ion sense of if simply relabeled 4th shift manufacturing output.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Post Reply