hazard switch question?

Every car has an electrical system. Here's the place to learn all about it.

Moderator: 2088 bob

Post Reply
User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Fri May 21, 2010 7:44 pm

hello electronic gurus

i am wondering on how to wire up a toggle switch (one with the racing cover) with an led light for it also just like original switch, for the 4 way hazard lights and would like to have a diagram? for when i go to rewire my 74 ghia.

and also how can i wire two of the same switches for the low and high speed of the wipers? diagrams would be nice.

i have the headlights figured out for the toggel switch along with the marker and license plate lights.

and for all of these switches i will be using relays that wont be a problem.

thats all for right now.
thanks
_-Mad-Max-_ aka Jeremy Perry
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
Speedy Jim
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 3:01 am

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by Speedy Jim » Fri May 21, 2010 8:59 pm

You can do it with a DPDT toggle and a 2P relay.

One half of the toggle will switch "+" (49) between #15 and #30.
The other half of the toggle can operate the relay.
The relay, in turn, will close #49a to both "L" and "R".

Simplified diagram of what the stock Hazard switch looks like:

Image


This is what your wiper circuit looks like now:
Image


If you can live without the "Park" feature when you switch off,
a simple SPDT center Off toggle will do it.
Just switch 53a to either 53 or 53b.




Speedy Jim
http://www.nls.net/mp/volks/

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Fri May 21, 2010 9:09 pm

could you give me a link to some of the parts, or a location like a flaps. to get the dpdt racing cover toggle swtich and 2p relays?

and what is the park feature do?
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
Speedy Jim
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 3:01 am

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by Speedy Jim » Fri May 21, 2010 9:42 pm

http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/d130.html
maybe #7300002
They have a safety cover too.

SP relays:
http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/d36.html
could use 2 of 'em.

DPDT:
http://www.hosfelt.com/contents/en-us/d111.html
#45-689

Great relay forum:
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/for ... .asp~FID~5


Park refers to the wiper motor automatically running until the blades are at the rest (Park) position.
It makes the circuit a lot more complicated.

SJ

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Fri May 21, 2010 10:06 pm

ah ok, thanks for the info.

just curious can the hazards be hooked up with a spst switch?
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
Marc
Moderator
Posts: 23738
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by Marc » Fri May 21, 2010 10:08 pm

VW_Man_87 wrote:...just curious can the hazards be hooked up with a spst switch?
If it was that simple, don't you think Jim would've said so? You could use a SPST switch that did nothing but cross-connect the LH and RH lights, but you'd still need the ignition on (and the t'signal switch flipped up or down) to have hazard flashers.

As for the wipers, if you can find a two-pole, triple-throw (DP3T) switch that'll handle the current you can duplicate all features of the stock switch, including park.
An alternative arrangement could use a common DPDT switch along with a SPDT relay.
The link at the bottom is to a diagram for a DP3T switch on a `67-`71 wiper motor, for the benefit of anyone contemplating doing this to an older car.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Fri May 21, 2010 10:27 pm

now could i use two spst switches for the wipers?
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
Marc
Moderator
Posts: 23738
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by Marc » Fri May 21, 2010 11:01 pm

Again, if it was that simple......

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Fri May 21, 2010 11:11 pm

ok could you do it this way


hot into 2 switches one out to the low and one to high, kinda just like the on-off-on switch
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
Marc
Moderator
Posts: 23738
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by Marc » Sat May 22, 2010 12:06 am

What would happen if you inadvertently switched them both on at once? I don't know, but I doubt that it would be good....and it's certain that you would at some time or another. Just break down and get a SPDT/center-off switch, they aren't that expensive.

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Sat May 22, 2010 12:44 am

ok on the dp3t switch can you find me one that i can use the safety cover on, as i would like to achieve the cockpit of a plane switch looks?

thanks
Jeremy
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
VW_Man_87
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: Casa Grande, AZ
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by VW_Man_87 » Thu May 27, 2010 6:15 am

i have a question, i would like to add a toggle switch on the main feed wire to the key and was wondering what amperage i would need for that switch? kinda like a cut off switch for the key so i can hide it under the dash per-say...

i would like to have a key operated switch but i would like to know how much amps runs through that main constant line then when the key is on to everything else?

a 2 pole universal key switch, like on and off with a key would be perfect for me, like from the FLAPS.

thanks
im in need of a new front clip for my 74 ghia, i dont care what year its from but i need one in order to fix my front end, can anyone help out?

User avatar
CBDZ
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Just up-wind of all the Chino Dairies
Contact:

Re: hazard switch question?

Post by CBDZ » Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:14 pm

I just wanted to report back on this. Everyone here is such a huge help. I have just wired my wipers on my Fiberglass Buggy as shown here...

Image

It works perfect!!!
My Car Details:
Fiberglass Buggy on 1973 Chassis.
1904 cc
Megasquirt (MS1 with 3.57 board) Fuel Injection: German Intake Plenum, CB Performance End-Castings, Ford Escort Throttle Body with custom Adapter, MS controls Wasted Spark Coil Pack

Post Reply