Correct use of a dial indicator

General tips/tricks/tools that could be utilized on any platform.
Dangermouse

Correct use of a dial indicator

Post by Dangermouse »

Well I've never used one before. Picked up a pre-loved one the other day for the purposes of measuring endplay and deck heights, a Mitutoyo with 1" range and 0.001" resolution. Like this fellah...

First dumb, newb question - what does this thumbscrew do? Apparently nothing?

I haven't sorted out a magnetic stand for it yet but hope to pick one up soon. When using it to, say, measure endplay, is it a question of sticking the base to the flywheel, pulling back the flywheel, preloading the indicator somewhat against the case, setting the dial to zero and then measuring away?

Gotta be an improvement over my previous, ghetto measuring...

helowrench

Re: Correct use of a dial indicator

Post by helowrench »

the thumbscrew usually locks the pointer or dial after you rotate to zero before measurement

Rob
aircooledtechguy

Post by aircooledtechguy »

Actually, the thumb screw allows you loosen and rotate the outer gauge face so that you can set it to zero once you have the indicator mounted. Once you are ready to pull a measurement, you gently lock the thumb screw so the outer graduations stay in place and only the dial moves; giving you the distance between one position and the other.
fusername

Post by fusername »

what they said.

how to check endplay:
assemble engine far enough to do so (preferably prior to heads and such)
position in TDC
give the crank a whap with a mallet backand forth once to make sure it slides free
push on the gland nut nice and hard to force the crank back as far as possible
stick the mag base of the dial indicator as close to the center of the flywheel as possible
position the end of the dial indicator against the bellhousing of the engine, making sure it is perpendicular to the face