Tool Ideas for Case Dis-assembly an Valve Spring Compressor

General tips/tricks/tools that could be utilized on any platform.
rockerarm

Tool Ideas for Case Dis-assembly an Valve Spring Compressor

Post by rockerarm »

Hi all. I've been a VW mechanic for more years than I care to admit, especially with this silly question. What do you use to split the type 1 case apart ? Whether it has been together for years with sealant or everything is new/clean and is being trial assembled.
Also, anybody got a simple way to build a valve spring compressor so as to r&r valve springs at home. Looking for ideas for a bench mounted device as well with an assembled engine. I have a simple KD hand crank valve spring compressor which was ok to remove the stock springs, but is not working with the HD Bugpack single springs. It may be worn out as the jaws will not stay on the coil as the spring gets compressed.
Pics are always cool but part numbers or catalog suggestions are welcome. Thanks, Bill
Dale M.

Re: Tool Ideas for Case Dis-assembly an Valve Spring Compressor

Post by Dale M. »

There is a valve spring compressor that bolts to cylinder head in place of rocker shaft.... Have seen it used to change springs or replace keepers on assembled engines in car (Yes it will)...

This is not the one(s) I am speaking of but perhaps....

http://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp ... 26-000-129

http://www.cbperformance.com/catalog.asp?ProductID=1317

Dale
"Fear The Government That Wants To Take Your Guns" - Thomas Jefferson
1970 "Kellison Sand Piper Roadster"
Tom in PA

Post by Tom in PA »

I've just used something similar to this:

http://www.appletreeauto.com/case-splitter-pr-1318.html

It's helped me when I get a stubborn case.

Tom
Bugfuel

Post by Bugfuel »

Dale M. wrote:There is a valve spring compressor that bolts to cylinder head in place of rocker shaft.... Have seen it used to change springs or replace keepers on assembled engines in car (Yes it will)...