My draw through turbo

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.

Moderator: seabeebuggy

Post Reply
Buggsy
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 3:01 am

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by Buggsy » Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:12 pm

Dorman 47170 vacuum check valve, Advance Auto Parts usually has these in stock. I think you install it backwards for this application, but not sure. A lot of these check valves have a little porous disc inside that bleeds off trapped vacuum, or in your case, boost. They are five bucks.

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:33 am

😁 cheers

madmike
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by madmike » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:47 am

If I hadn't been over that 'Pond' six times :roll: I'd fly over and Help get this on the road My friend :lol:

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:21 am

Come on over the weather here is great at the moment it's not raining 😁
I should have it started by next week but I still need a innovate LM-2 kit but I'm going to play it safe and start of with the 160 mains witch yes will make it run rich but until I get the wideband kit I want to play it safe. Don't suppose any of you lot have one for sale ?

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 pm

I'd never buy a second hand Innovate anything. If its for sale, its for a reason...
Speaking of which, i have a used lc-1 or two if anyone is in need of one. I'll let it go cheap...i don't think it landed in the trash after i tore it out of my car and threw it across the garage...

I have been pretty impressed with my LC2, i think its been in the car now since 2014. I think thats the longest I've managed to keep a wideband alive.

Clonebug
Posts: 2961
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by Clonebug » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:46 pm

Get a PLX.....I had my fun with a LM-1 too......I will sell it cheap too.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

User avatar
panel
Posts: 3623
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada
Contact:

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by panel » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:27 pm

advinnie.....those little valves come on a lot of European cars, Volvos , Vw's ......wrecking yards are prolly full of them.

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:13 pm

Hi all turbo is up and running and sound great but a little loud 😁
I'm on Facebook and instagram so look me up ( adam vinnicombe)

madmike
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by madmike » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:47 am

8) 8) 8) 8)

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:00 am

Hi got problems, now the turbo is boosting at 3000 rpm but only at 1 psi and by 4800rpm it was only producing 3psi but you can hear that the turbo was well and truly spun up by the amount of noise it was making. So after looking at it I decided to pressrise the actuator just to make sure the waste gate wasn't opening and found that it couldn't even hold 1/2 psi so I'm guessing the actuator is broken and leaking badly?
Anyway what I've now done is disconnect the pressure line to the actuator and at 3000rpm I now have 3psi of boost and 5psi of boost at 4500rpm and 6psi at 4800rpm so first question is, is this ok to do?
Second question is , I take it that the turbo I have chosen is to large considering it's only making 6psi of boost ?

madmike
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by madmike » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:36 am

Not good to block off the wastegate(but I've done it too :wink: ) , can u fit an remote gate on your Header?
what's the specs on ur turbo? A/R's?
check for exhaust LEAK'S most of the time that's the cause of low boost

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3234
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by petew » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:03 am

I had a look at your instagram feed. I'd suggest, like Mike, that it's a boost leak. Unless your turbo is really thrashed the wastegate is probably fine. Also, the standard wastegate spring might be 6psi. Mine is. I've never seen more than 6.6psi with the standard wastegate. Course when the feedline for the gate blew off I got 14.3 :D

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:14 am

It's an AiRESEARCH turbo with .36 stamped on the exhaust side can't remember what is stamped on the boost side of it at the moment I think it's a T3?
I've now tried pressurising the actuator to 42psi and it doesn't move you can hear the air hissing straight out of the unit.

advinnie
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by advinnie » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:32 am

Just thought should I have a check valve in the waste gate actuator line on a draw through set up cause I was wondering if the negative pressure acting on the actuator may have broken it?

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: My draw through turbo

Post by Chip Birks » Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:01 pm

petew wrote:
Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:03 am
I had a look at your instagram feed. I'd suggest, like Mike, that it's a boost leak. Unless your turbo is really thrashed the wastegate is probably fine. Also, the standard wastegate spring might be 6psi. Mine is. I've never seen more than 6.6psi with the standard wastegate. Course when the feedline for the gate blew off I got 14.3 :D
Sheesh! You were lucky, my stupid line blew off on the racetrack and gave me 28psi! Image my surprise when i opened that datalog after the pass :shock:

Post Reply