First time turbo build

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.

Moderator: seabeebuggy

Post Reply
User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: First time turbo build

Post by petew » Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:54 am

I wouldn't put that many fittings on the oil outlet. That's asking for a nasty accident and snapping it off the motor. I also think that's not a great place for the oil temp sensor.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:47 am

petew wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:54 am
I wouldn't put that many fittings on the oil outlet. That's asking for a nasty accident and snapping it off the motor. I also think that's not a great place for the oil temp sensor.
That's a good point less is more in this situation. Where would be a good place for the temp sensor? I won't be using it for enrichment just more data to help keep on eye on things.

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: First time turbo build

Post by petew » Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:05 pm

I've got mine in my deep sump, which BTW is also the wrong place for it. Somewhere you're getting the hottest oil? Paging Piledriver.

66brm
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia, The Southern Hemisphere

Re: First time turbo build

Post by 66brm » Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:27 am

Put the sensor in the oil filter head, it'll get good flow and be more accurate than in the sump

madmike
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: First time turbo build

Post by madmike » Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:42 am

I use the sender that replaces the slotted screw on the oil relief :wink:

User avatar
risk
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:43 pm
Location: Stumpbroke, Arkansas

Re: First time turbo build

Post by risk » Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:47 am

Mine is in a tee in the full flow line.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:34 am

risk wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:47 am
Mine is in a tee in the full flow line.
I wouldn't mind seeing how that looks :D

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: First time turbo build

Post by petew » Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:00 pm

madmike wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:42 am
I use the sender that replaces the slotted screw on the oil relief :wink:
Like this one?

https://www.vwheritage.com/v323064-vdo- ... not-1-7-2l

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:20 pm

petew wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:00 pm
madmike wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:42 am
I use the sender that replaces the slotted screw on the oil relief :wink:
Like this one?

https://www.vwheritage.com/v323064-vdo- ... not-1-7-2l
Good find there i was wondering if they had a proper fitting for the relief

madmike
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: First time turbo build

Post by madmike » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:26 am

Yep ,That's it :wink: install on the rear (near pulley)

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:01 am

Quick question for you guys, when breaking in the cam and motor is it okay to leave my hd springs installed or to use my stock ones until after the break in? Also when building the initial oil pressure should i remove the push rods if the hd springs will remain installed?

madmike
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: First time turbo build

Post by madmike » Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:04 am

The HD springs will be fine , heck I even use duals , and all's well :wink:
leave the Push rods in it too,Madmike

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2436
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: First time turbo build

Post by Chip Birks » Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:51 am

I like to remove the rockers while i build oil pressure. Once pressure is there, I'll reinstall them and break in. I've broken in my last few cams with CB VW650s installed. No issues.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:19 pm

Spent some time wrapping the headers and finishing the fuel line into the regulator.
FB_IMG_1503792796218.jpg
Here is how ill have the fuel lines ran from supply to the injectors and regulator
FB_IMG_1503792826662.jpg
FB_IMG_1503792834284.jpg
FB_IMG_1503792806482.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
panel
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada
Contact:

Re: First time turbo build

Post by panel » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:59 pm

It's nice to see someone using the proper hose clamps for fuel lines .

Post Reply