First time turbo build

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.

Moderator: seabeebuggy

Post Reply
yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sun Jul 09, 2017 2:14 pm

Got the kafer bar installed and finally put the engine back in. I can't wait to habe this car running: D
FB_IMG_1499627546000.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:35 pm

Added some goodies to the ecu to run the idle pwm.
FB_IMG_1499654015536.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: First time turbo build

Post by buguy » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:30 am

I really like the way you attacked this.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Tue Jul 11, 2017 11:40 am

buguy wrote:
Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:30 am
I really like the way you attacked this.
Gotta get what i can get done while I'm free from the honey-do list haha

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: First time turbo build

Post by buguy » Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:31 pm

Yeah but you were smart and methodical. No wasted motion! I think you would have made a good engineer (if your not!)

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:34 pm

buguy wrote:
Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:31 pm
Yeah but you were smart and methodical. No wasted motion! I think you would have made a good engineer (if your not!)
Appreciate the compliment :D

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:02 pm

Finally got a chance to get back into the bug. Got my header in and oil cooler and started wiring the relay
FB_IMG_1501120608473.jpg
Got a chance to take the family to the city while they were visiting
FB_IMG_1501120615839.jpg
Now that my free time is back it's time to get this bad boy running
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sat Jul 29, 2017 3:46 pm

I'm kind of confused on where the black wire for the fuel pump goes. Based on Mario's wiring diagram for the relay board it says to install with the engine ground. So does that mean the spot on the board along with the main ground or tired into the ground that will be attached to the board? Electronics are not my strong suit haha

Clonebug
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: First time turbo build

Post by Clonebug » Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:33 pm

If I remember correctly I have the relay board supplying the power through the on-board relay output.

I have my pump grounded to the pan right by the pump on the pan so power would have to come from the Relay Board.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:16 am

So far that's how i have it. Relay board providing power and i guess i can ground to chassis. I wasn't sure if i had to ground to the engine ground hole on the upper right side of the relay board.

I've been following Mario's guide.
http://www.thedubshop.net/fuel-injection-install-tech

Clonebug
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: First time turbo build

Post by Clonebug » Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:45 am

I have a buggy so I just grounded it to the bolt that holds my horn bracket to the pan. It's just a few inches away from the fuel pump.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

yellow_snocone
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:26 pm
Location: NW indiana

Re: First time turbo build

Post by yellow_snocone » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:24 pm

Got some more work done on the wiring and engine.
FB_IMG_1502061168569.jpg

Harness all covered up.
FB_IMG_1502061160968.jpg
Also started the piping for the oil pressure sender, temp sender and turbo oil feed. Going to have a 1/4" line made. Would that be too large of a line or should a get a 3/16 line with 1/4 ends?
FB_IMG_1502061154489.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

madmike
Posts: 1162
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: Atlanta,Michigan

Re: First time turbo build

Post by madmike » Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:04 am

I use Stainless Steel Flex Brake lines 3/16" :wink:

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2477
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: First time turbo build

Post by Chip Birks » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:27 am

I just use 1/4" steel braid. I have a restrictor right after it. Low mounted turbo, zero oil issues.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: First time turbo build

Post by buguy » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:24 am

madmike wrote:
Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:04 am
I use Stainless Steel Flex Brake lines 3/16" :wink:
Me too. $6-$8 if I remember right at the local FLAPS

Post Reply