Starter question for an ag application

Offroad VW based vehicles have problems/insights all their own. Not to mention the knowledge gained in VW durability.
cdsloop

Starter question for an ag application

Post by cdsloop »

Hello guys. Newbie here. I'm a part-time farmer with a VW powered field sprayer. I was directed here by a friend that sought some advice a couple years ago on a transaxle issue that he had with his sprayer that's identical to mine. The sprayer is a Spra-Coupe 230, and it's powered by a 1.8 liter, naturally aspirated VW engine. From the research that I have done, it's pretty much identical to the 1.8 that they put in the mid to late 80's Fox, Golf, etc. It's coupled to a four speed transaxle with an 081 case. I ran it hot a few weeks ago, and warped the head. I've got that fixed now, and it runs great. My problem is starting. I have figured out that my starter was going out before I had head problems, but now it's shot. We pulled the starter, and had it bench tested, and it tested bad. I'd like to replace it with a good gear reduction starter, and hopefully be done with it. I like the looks of the IMI Performance starters, I just don't know which one to order for my application. I'm going to try to count the teeth on the flywheel tonight, but the starter has a 9 tooth gear on it. It seems that the 081 case is a Type 1, is that correct? Any advice for a newbie on a new starter?
GDRBORETIRED

Re: Starter question for an ag application

Post by GDRBORETIRED »

The Transaxle forum would be a better source for your answers.
Marc

Post by Marc »