412 FI aut. engine into T3 FI aut. ?

Notches, fastbacks, squarebacks.
ploug

412 FI aut. engine into T3 FI aut. ?

Post by ploug »

Hi

first off, i have searched shoptalkforum and the samba and have read http://users.aol.com/my65notch/notchback.html
http://www.tunacan.net/t4/tech/type3.shtml

and i still have a lot of questions, so here goes :!: :oops: :cry:

i have a complete 1973 412 FI (D-jet) automatic wagon/variant and i want to put the engine into my 1970 T3 fastback FI automatic

Q: what gearbox should i use ? better gearratios etc :?:

Q: can i keep my original wiring harness from the T3, and just swop engine and ECU :?:

Q: will the stock T4 exhaust fit :?:

Q: can i use the stock 412 engine hanger bar or one from a bus :?:

PS i know its quite a bit of work - when its a stock engine swop, but going from 54 hp to 80 hp is enough for me at the moment

i'm just a nurse (male) but have a very skilled T3 mechanic helping me - i just want to cover all the bases :D - hope you guys can help :D
Last edited by ploug on Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
raygreenwood

Post by raygreenwood »

The type 4 (412) transmission is actually the same gearbox as the type 3. It is a 003 automatic.
That being said, there are a few differences. I can't remember off teh top of my head if there was a final drive ratio difference on teh 412 but I beleive there was not. Either way, teh difference in final driveratios that wer available bwteen ttype 3 and 4 were slight and still better than one from a bus by a long shot.

You should ...just for driving sake....go ahead and do the adjustment of the pressure modulator valve. Look in the Bentley brown type 3 book for the how to. It should be done for age alone and also because you are going toa lighter vehicle. There may be some vacuum and load differences.