MS3-Pro

Fuel Supply & Ignition Systems

Moderator: Tom Notch

Steve Arndt
Posts: 7186
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Go Boise State, ID
Contact:

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Steve Arndt » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:19 pm

Shag, is this for your T3 drag car or your oval window?

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by MarioVelotta » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:48 pm

Here is a look inside for the curious

Image

Image

Image

Image
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
shag55
Posts: 1245
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Ontario Ca.

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by shag55 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:02 pm

Both. Well temporary the oval then switch to the Notch when done.
------------------------------------
Shag Leone, SL-1 Racing
325WHP and 290TQ @17# on 91oct
383WHP and 324TQ @23psi on 50/50 mix
What's next?

Need a turbo or parts!
shag55.sl1racing@gmail.com
Facebook at SL 1 racing

User avatar
shag55
Posts: 1245
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Ontario Ca.

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by shag55 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:03 pm

No more jumper wires?
------------------------------------
Shag Leone, SL-1 Racing
325WHP and 290TQ @17# on 91oct
383WHP and 324TQ @23psi on 50/50 mix
What's next?

Need a turbo or parts!
shag55.sl1racing@gmail.com
Facebook at SL 1 racing

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by MarioVelotta » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:21 pm

I'm not sure what jumpers you saw. There is the boot loader. But I'm not sure about the other small header. Could be for initial programming or testing.
Last edited by MarioVelotta on Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
Dale M.
Posts: 1606
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:09 am
Location: Just a Little Bit West Of Yosemite Valley

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Dale M. » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:52 pm

Curious as to pin outs for the plugs/sockets....

Dale
Lives his life vicariously through his own self.
1970 "Kellison Sand Piper Roadster"

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21787
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Piledriver » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:05 pm

IIRC MS3-Pro comes with the harness, all wires are labeled every 12".

Wiring setup is surely available on DIYAutotune and MSextra sites.

If that's a 6 pin header, it's probably a BDM connector for factory loader install/low level debugging.
Don't use it unless you really know what you are doing, and even then the ROM is certainly read protected.

B&G and the devs locked down MS3 to prevent the unlicensed knockoffs MS2 generated.

The upcoming MS3 module (similar setup to the Ms2module used in the DIYPNP setups) is for OEM/DIYers to repackage, FW already licensed etc.

Note: Megasquirt/Msextra is not "Free/Open" software, MS1+2 are "source code available" and so are older versions of the MS3 code, but B&G/ the dev team own the code and any derivatives of the firmware.

I cannot say I blame them.
Last edited by Piledriver on Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by MarioVelotta » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:24 pm

Pinout
ms3pro_module_pinout.pdf
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2477
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Chip Birks » Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:17 am

shag55 wrote:The MS3 not the pro?
Pro is MS3, just packaged way better. I was recommending Pro to you, by stating that my non pro setup is messy in comparison, same basic function, just messy, and no sealed case for me. Go MS3Pro if you want less headache.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21787
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Piledriver » Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:53 pm

I managed to partially unseat my MS3 daughterboard yesterday jumping a railroad track.
(steep approach rural railroad crossing, yes I got air :twisted: )
After a few seconds of stuttering It reseated itself well enough to get me home, it's well trained.

Today I'm putting nylon bolts/nuts in the case top to push down on the ribbon cables so that is never again an issue.
(one of the ribbon cables was half off as well when I took it apart)

Admittedly it's mounted upside down without shock mounts, but with an MS3-Pro you will never have to worry about it.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by MarioVelotta » Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Pile, I'm kinda surprised you haven't gotten the MS3-pro module yet.


Image
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
shag55
Posts: 1245
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Ontario Ca.

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by shag55 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:04 pm

: )
------------------------------------
Shag Leone, SL-1 Racing
325WHP and 290TQ @17# on 91oct
383WHP and 324TQ @23psi on 50/50 mix
What's next?

Need a turbo or parts!
shag55.sl1racing@gmail.com
Facebook at SL 1 racing

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21787
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Piledriver » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:13 pm

I'd probably be in the market, but last I checked they were still $TBA.

Ouch, at that price I think I'll have to pass for the moment, I have 2 perfectly serviceable MS2 setups I need to use first.
By the time you add the harne$$ might as well go with the full MS3-Pro setup.

(I was thinking it would be priced somewhat closer to the MS2-module )
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

sixty5slug
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:38 am

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by sixty5slug » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:26 pm

The updated EVO version has been released with an onboard MAP. Any reason to ditch the MS3 Pro + GM MAP sensor for the EVO version? That is, if I have the MS3 Pro already BNIB. Or should I be fine with it? I've picked it up brand new for a fraction of retail price.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21787
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: MS3-Pro

Post by Piledriver » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:49 pm

There is really no advantage to the built in MAP, other than saving a few pins on the connectors.
If the ECU is a long way from the engine the remote sensor can be a plus.
Its also a lot easier to change an external MAP sensor.
All internal also makes switching to MAF later a lot harder.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Post Reply