Type 4 Megasquirt project, Now Tuning!

Moderator: Tom Notch

mlauzon

Type 4 Megasquirt project, Now Tuning!

Post by mlauzon » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:07 pm

Hi,

This is my first project with Megasquirt, and hopefuly not the last.

I have recently built a 2270cc type 4 engine long block and want to try using a megasquirt system. I also want to use the EDIS ignition system. I have a v3.0 card running extra code and I believe I have it jumperred correctly for EDIS use.

I have recently purchased a Jimstim board, assembled and tested it per the "on- line" instructions. All checks seem to work including tach wheel test.

I hooked it up to the my MS board and using the TS, all potentiometers are showing to work and outputs can be varied (except spare, but I don’t think I will be using this). FP LED is on and goes off when RPM goes to zero. TACH pulse checked on pin 36 and was observed with an oscilloscope. It also changes when RPM pot is adjusted.

The INJ and IGN LEDs do not light up however, and no pulses can be seen pins 33 and 35 (inj1, inj2) with oscilloscope. The other concern is there is a box in TS that says “not cranking”. I did a lot of reading but can’t understand why that is when RPM can be adjusted from 0 to 6k etc.

I probably need so guidance with the basic setup settings. I did try quite a few of them.

ALL HELP APPRECIATED,

Thanks,

Michel
Last edited by mlauzon on Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:14 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Michel Lauzon
Working on a Type 4 Megasquirt Project

miniman82

Re: Type 4 Megasquirt project, need help.

Post by miniman82 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:13 pm

mlauzon wrote:I have a v3.0 card running extra code and I believe I have it jumperred correctly for EDIS use.

It's great you trust yourself, but how about a pic of the board mods? :wink: