Hot Starts

VW based Porsche. In a league of its own.
914 Rookie

Hot Starts

Post by 914 Rookie »

I'm new to my '75 2.0L 914. It runs fine until I shut it down, then when trying to start it back up (5-10mins) it won't start. It still cranks. Then I'll wait another 15 mins and no problem. Am I getting a vapor lock ? I didn't think fuel injected cars had this problem ?. Thanks for any help on this.
Ryan72

Hot Starts

Post by Ryan72 »

This is a common problem on 914's with D-Jet fuel injection, im not positive how the problem is resolved as I had a low tolerance of the fuel injection and converted it to carbs. Im sure someone will chime in any minute to answer your question Image
914 Rookie

Hot Starts

Post by 914 Rookie »

Thanks. Has anyone used the Bosch "Hot Start Relay" part # WR1 ?
Dave_Darling

Hot Starts

Post by Dave_Darling »

That is a relay that should only affect the starter itself. It would be a possible fix if your starter did not crank when it got hot--but it won't do anything for a car that is not getting spark or fuel.

Are you getting spark and fuel when it doesn't want to start? How's the fuel pressure read when it won't start? What kind of shape is the ignition in??

--DD

------------------
1974 VW-Porsche 914 2.0 (Type IV powered!)

Pelican Parts' 914 Tech Geek http://www.pelicanparts.com
914Racer

Hot Starts

Post by 914Racer »

It's been hot in CA the past couple weeks. It could be vapor lock even though you have a later model and the pump is up front (I think). The heat from the engine plus the high ambient temps cause the fuel to vaporize in the lines that are in the hot engine bay starving the car of fuel.

-Greg
Eric914

Hot Starts

Post by Eric914 »