Please Help - Alternator Not Charging?

The VW Beetle. Everything about bugs!
coolj30

Please Help - Alternator Not Charging?

Post by coolj30 »

I am not a newbie with VW's, but I am stumped! Any advice would be much appreciated.

The light bulb in the dash works! So its not that.

I have a 69 convertible Beetle. The Generator light on the dash was on and the generator was not charging.
While running I would unhook the negative battery cable and the engine will die.
I put new brushes in it, replaced the regulator, new battery ground strap and cleaned mating surfaces and battery cables; still would not charge and dash light was on.

I bought a brand new alternator, installed that and removed the regulator.
Still will not charge! And red G light is still on.
I checked continuity from alternator wiring to battery. All good.

What am I doing wrong!?
SCOTTRODS

Re: Please Help - Alternator Not Charging?

Post by SCOTTRODS »

Year model not important... Please clarify if you're using an alternator, or a generator... and if alternator, give more specifics of any updates done... wiring changes etc...
I have found them completely missing more than once. - PILEDRIVER

Some pics of My Powder Coating work
http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/gg6/terrellster/
My Facebook Page for Powder Coating
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001788886297
Marc

Post by Marc »

I'll assume you got an internally-regulated alternator (two wires).

Check your work against this guide: http://www.speedyjim.net/schem/gen_alt.htm
...hopefully you'll find the problem there and won't need to go further, but if not read on before you do.