What does a good core bug engine look like

The VW Beetle. Everything about bugs!
Ramjetr

What does a good core bug engine look like

Post by Ramjetr »

Hi,

I picked up a 66 bug that had a engine with it. I'm new to vw bugs. the engine jugs look rusty and has some chips out of the case along the back near the starter... Looks like aluminum with some corrosion pitting damage. I am looking either to rebuild this one or get a another long block and start all over. With this type of damage would you think I could use it for a core or is this thing trashed"? I am thinking its trashed. Can anyone tell me what can be used as a good core engine?

Thanks

Roger
Ol'fogasaurus

Re: What does a good core bug engine look like

Post by Ol'fogasaurus »

Rodger, can you post some pictures.

It would be easier to talk about with pictures of what you have and where the problems are you are taking about. Also, under the stand for the generator are the numbers for the case which would also give a lot of information.

Lee
Marc

Re: What does a good core bug engine look like

Post by Marc »

On an original 1966 case, the numbers stamped into the case which Lee mentioned will be preceded by the letter "F". Also look for the presence of a "factory exchange" stamp (a small VW logo encircled by two arrows) - that could mean it's a newer case that was built as a 1300 for the replacement market, and other physical characteristics such as the size of the oil pump studs will give clues of its vintage.