custom shift rod build for my 68

The VW Beetle. Everything about bugs!
buggin68hippi

custom shift rod build for my 68

Post by buggin68hippi »

whats up guys i havent started a build thread for my bagged 68 yet but i thought id do a build thread on the custom shifter im making for it.. i wanted a tall shifter like the 23.5" bus shifters but everyplace i went said it wouldnt fit.. my bug came with a hurst T shifter and a extra stock shifter with a beer tap stuck on it.. so i decided to make my own using the beer shifter one.. here are some of the 2 designs i started drawing out

this is the first one i came up with

then i decided i wanted a lil more organic look but still keeping a mechanical look to it so i came up with this
i ended up deciding on the second one.. it will be about 23-24" tall and have all different sized holes cut into it with tubes through the holes
went and picked up all the material im going to need for it and some extra as well

i knocked off the beer tap off the shift rod and cut it in 2 pieces.. so i can retain the shift ball and the threads to thread on a knob at the end
this is where im at right now.. i cut the main middle 2" tube and i got one side of the top cut out of sheet metal.. i need to trace out the second top section once the first one cools off a bit.. then move on to the bottom half.. drill all the holes and put a small break in the top and bottom pieces so it can go from the 2" in the middle to about 1/2" on top and from 2" to 1" at the bottom.... so stay tuned there is more to come for this shifter build!
buggin68hippi

Re: custom shift rod build for my 68

Post by buggin68hippi »