Do These Dipstick Oil Heaters work?

The VW Beetle. Everything about bugs!
Jim Ed

Do These Dipstick Oil Heaters work?

Post by Jim Ed »

Kat's 15200 90 Watt, 120 Volt Dipstick Style Oil Heater

I think there are two different sizes.
The smaller one might fit the VW Beetle dipstick hole.
fmartin_gila

Re: Do These Dipstick Oil Heaters work?

Post by fmartin_gila »

While growing up (during the 40s & early 50s) in a small town in SD, most everybody had headbolt replacement heaters in their vehicles and over my working years as a fleet mechanic, I installed numerous tank type heaters on a lot of vehicles, these were all water cooled. I have not had any experience with the dipstick type heaters, but would guess most any way to put some heat to the engine would be a great aid to starting. You may even consider just keeping a work light laying on top of the block overnight as a means of keeping some heat under the engine cover. As I recall, there are also available some type of pad type heaters which you may or may not find suitable for your needs. Hope this is of some help to you.

Fred
Stray Catalyst

Post by Stray Catalyst »

Most of the block heaters I've seen are either for the coolant (not too useful for VW's) or magnetic... which is also useless for us. The dipstick heater may work, I haven't tried one on any of my aircooled vehicles. How cold is your area? I ran my 74 Bug all winter for a few years with no difficulties, and I'm in New England.

Stray
goober

Post by goober »

I haven't actually tried this dipstick oil heater but 90 watts doesn't seem to be very much heat on a -10 deg F day. But if it kept the oil a little less viscus, it might aid in starting.

It's 23 inches long. You probably wouldn't be able to easily close your decklid unless it was fairly flexible.
Bruce2

Post by Bruce2 »