Ideas for a germanlooker 411/2

Discuss with fans and owners of the most luxurious aircooled sedan/wagon that VW ever made, the VW 411/412. Official forum of Tom's Type 4 Corner.
sleepAIR

Ideas for a germanlooker 411/2

Post by sleepAIR »

Hi,
I'm new to the 411/2 world, but not the aircooled one. Actually I have a recently built 1302GS with all the goodies (2.1 t4 with porsche cooling, KW front struts, complete 944 rear suspension, urethane bushings, tarox 6 pots in front and vented 944 in rears etc.) but I have always wanted something bigger and more comfortable. :arrow: just bought a 412 Variant. My aim is to build it into a real grand turismo I can drive in any weather or distance, even for longer trips.

This car has only 73k kms on it, but was in storage for 15+ years (partly outside), has no engine, the brakes are gone etc etc but the interior seems untouched .. If I start work on it, I would like to modernize it in the same time while keeping stock(ish) from outside. In my book this is GL is all about. But this time I have to keep in on a budget to make it roll ASAP, and no need for overkill/fancy solutions.

I have read most of the related topics here and found a lot of useful infos, but maybe it's better to open a new one instead of bringig back 10 old ones, hope you don't mind. The car is far away from me, so I'm not able to check or measure parts, but google is my friend.