Just Bought 1973 Super Beetle and 1974 Super Beetle.

Here's the place to start. Introduce yourself and your ride.
Charlie Mac

Just Bought 1973 Super Beetle and 1974 Super Beetle.

Post by Charlie Mac »

New to this forum, and am Excited about getting started on rebuilding my two SB's. The 1974 Had New Motor with less than 200 miles on it. It had set up for about 3 years. It Cranks right up with Starter Fluid sprayed in Carb. but Dies really Quick.
Checked Fuel Supply, took off supply fuel line and was NO fuel coming out. (Fuel Pump?) Ordered! While waiting for new pump to come in, Took off Carb, and going to clean needle valve. What else guys? I am Brand New to Working on Anything other than an ole 350 chevy engine Years ago with my dad.
I appreciate any and All advice Ya'll can give me.

Charlie Mac
Jon65

Re: Just Bought 1973 Super Beetle and 1974 Super Beetle.

Post by Jon65 »

Welcome! From one new guy to another, this site definitely has a lot of information that can help you out.

Please post up some pics of your new rides if you have some. 8)
Charlie Mac

Post by Charlie Mac »

http://i1314.photobucket.com/albums/t57 ... 1af21b.jpg

First Time to Post Pic... Please let me know if ya'll can see them and I will Post More.

Thanks

Charlie Mac
Marc

Post by Marc »

Charlie Mac wrote:...took off supply fuel line and was NO fuel coming out...
Supply side of what? The carb or the pump? With fuel in the tank it should run out of the hose which connects to the pump, although if the line from chassis to engine is routed higher than normal and the tank's been run dry you could have an airlock until the tank level is above the high point in the line (a dry fuel pump doesn't self-prime very well).