my turbo engine

This is the place to discuss, or get help with any of your Type 4 questions.

Moderator: Type 4 Unleashed

User avatar
panel
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada
Contact:

Post by panel » Sat May 27, 2006 11:14 pm

ToRy 70 wrote: The only thing I would change is the abrupt ending (cap) at the end of the exhaust. Seems like it would flow better with a curve into the second tailpipe.
I was thinking of the same thing. Just end that dead end a little sooner with a curve.
Subaru JDM EJ20 Turbo bus
Built by Germans powered by Japanese and brought together by Canadians

User avatar
type3
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 3:01 am
Location: London, England

Post by type3 » Sun May 28, 2006 4:41 am

Man that is bad news! :( Hope you get it sorted!


cheers,
type3

User avatar
jonas_linder
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 2:01 am

Post by jonas_linder » Sun May 28, 2006 5:01 pm

that sucks :(

Maybe I can come help you out!! Where in norway are you situated ?!

nasse
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:53 am

Post by nasse » Mon May 29, 2006 12:55 pm

jonas_linder wrote:that sucks :(

Maybe I can come help you out!! Where in norway are you situated ?!
you are to kind Jonas :) . but I guess it will be a rather long tripp.
I live in Moelv its a small town 2 hours drive north of Oslo.

after sleeping on it. I got in the workshop today and pulled the efi harness, there are som wires that needs changing but not much.
the stock harness need changing at least from the backseet to the engine, not sure in front thoe, but I did have to change the ignition switch cos it melted.

User avatar
jonas_linder
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 2:01 am

Post by jonas_linder » Mon May 29, 2006 5:43 pm

nasse wrote:
jonas_linder wrote:that sucks :(

Maybe I can come help you out!! Where in norway are you situated ?!
you are to kind Jonas :) . but I guess it will be a rather long tripp.
I live in Moelv its a small town 2 hours drive north of Oslo.

after sleeping on it. I got in the workshop today and pulled the efi harness, there are som wires that needs changing but not much.
the stock harness need changing at least from the backseet to the engine, not sure in front thoe, but I did have to change the ignition switch cos it melted.
That is not too long! Just PM me if you want me to take a weekend trip ;)

If you got all the material a couple of nights should do the trick! Don't leave the poor turboengine hanging!!! :)

And put a fuse on that wire, very strange that there is no fuse from the factory!!

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Post by Piledriver » Mon May 29, 2006 10:09 pm

That lack-of-fuse has killed more bugs than almost anything else...
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
bo
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:49 pm

Post by bo » Tue May 30, 2006 7:46 pm

remember to always use fuses because 22 rifle bullets dont make good substitutes :oops:

User avatar
jonas_linder
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 2:01 am

Post by jonas_linder » Fri Jun 30, 2006 6:36 am

What happend to this nasse ?!?! Should I load my toolbag and come help you out or what?!?! 8)

nasse
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:53 am

Post by nasse » Sat Jul 01, 2006 6:18 am

jonas_linder wrote:What happend to this nasse ?!?! Should I load my toolbag and come help you out or what?!?! 8)
well, her is a update.
I tok some time off and fixed the eletrical harness. then took it for a ride, after a mile (metric mile) a ugly rattlesound appeared, turns out to be a broken valve spring :( on cyl no.4 inntake. fixed that earlier this week.
yesterday I took it for another spin, and after 3 miles another sound appear :cry: . stopped at once and discovered that I had almost no oil left, probably due to exessive crankcase pressure pushing it thru one of the pushrod tubes :cry: :cry:
result: cam loobe on no.3 exhaust was grinded. :cry:

so Jonas, yes I actually need som help on this one :roll: changing the cam. I'l PM you...

her is a couple of pict of the car just before the last failure.


Image

Image

User avatar
jonas_linder
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 2:01 am

Post by jonas_linder » Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:19 am

Looks almost as a stock engine from the outside! :)

Nice and stealthy :D

edit. I haven't recived any PM!

nasse
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:53 am

Post by nasse » Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:03 am

took the motor out yesterday. turns out it's not the cam after all. it's another valvespring :) . lott less work and the car should be on the road again in a couple of weeks :D

any ideas why the springs are cracking/sagging other than beeing old, they are not bottoming :?: .

User avatar
type3
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 3:01 am
Location: London, England

Post by type3 » Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:30 am

nasse wrote:...turns out it's not the cam after all. it's another valvespring :) . lott less work and the car should be on the road again in a couple of weeks :D

any ideas why the springs are cracking/sagging other than beeing old, they are not bottoming :?: .

That good news, sounds like it would be worth swapping them all out this time. :)

What make of springs are they? Just how old are they? Sounds like you need an uprated set.


cheers,
type3

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Post by Piledriver » Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:35 am

They arent stock springs, are they?

Jake always insists that the stock springs, keepers, and retainers should be uprated even on stock engines.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
dstar
Posts: 3733
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:01 am

Post by dstar » Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:44 am

nasse wrote: any ideas why the springs are cracking/sagging other than beeing old, they are not bottoming :?: .
HEAT!
:lol:

Don

nasse
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:53 am

Post by nasse » Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:45 am

yes they are stock :oops:
but a complete new set are ordered now :lol:

Post Reply